Tamil Diplomat

Budget 2016 Final Reading passed with majority

The third reading of the Budget 2016 was passed today with a majority of 109 votes. 160 voted for it and 51 voted against. 13 abstained from voting.

The budget was presented in Parliament by Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake on November 20. JVP and the common opposition members voted against the budget. Parliamentarians Mahinda Rajapaksa, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Wimal Weerawansa, Janaka Bandara Tennakoon, Thenuka Vidanagamage, Manusha Nanayakkara, Siripala Gamlath, Premalal Jayasekera, Geetha Kumarasinghe, MKDS Gunawardane, Selvam Adaikkalanathan, Shivashakthi Anandan and Ali Saheer Moulana were among the thirteen who abstained from voting.