Tamil Diplomat

Major changes in the SLFP

A top level committee headed by President Maithripala Sirisena has been appointed to advise and lead the party for elction campaigning. The other members are y appointed a top level committee to advise the party and lead the parliamentary election campaign are former Presidents Mahinda Rajapaksa and Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga, former  Prime ministers D.M. Jayaratna and Ratnasiri Wickremanayke, Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa, former Minister Vishwa Warnapala and former Governor Alavi Moulana.

Former Minister Anura Priyadharshana Yapa was named the General Secretary of the SLFP.   Former Minister John Seneviratne was named as the Senior Vice President. Ten other Vice Presidents were also named.

The party also appointed former Minister Susil Premajayantha as the National Organiser, replacing Basil Rajapaksa, while former senior minister S.B. Nawinna was appointed as Treasurer.