Tamil Diplomat

Memorial for Mullivaikal dead by NPC

Plans are drawn up by Northern Provincial Council to establish a memorial in honour of those who were massacred during the final stages of the armed conflict at Mullivaikkal before this year’s anniversary of the deaths on May 18th.

A nine member committee oversees the setting up of the memorial. The committee, headed by Anthony Jeyanathan, includes the opposition leader S Thavarasa, M Sivanesan, T Ravikaran, T Pasupathipillai, T Sukirthan, Ayub Asmin, M Thyagaraja and K Sareswaran.