Tamil Diplomat

Selvam Adaikkalanathan appointed as the Deputy Chairman of Committees

UPFA National List MP Thilanga Sumathipala was appointed unanimously as the Deputy Speaker of the Parliament.

Selvam Adaikkalanathan of TNA, an MP from Vanni District, was appointed Deputy Chairman of Committees. Adaikkalanathan is also the leader of the Tamil Eelam Liberation Organization (TELO).

UNP Kandy District MP Lakshman Kiriella was appointed as the Leader of the House and the Galle District UNP MP Gayantha Karunathilake was appointed Chief Government Whip. They held the same positions during the final months of the Seventh Parliament as well.(niz)