Tamil Diplomat

Sri Lanka establishes National Police Commmission

The National Police Commission has been established with effect from October 14, 2015 under the 19 th Amendment to the Constitution.

Five members including the Chairman of the Commission have now been appointed by the President on the recommendations of the Constitutional Council.

Senior Professor of Sociology of the University of Colombo Prof. Siri Hettige has been appointed as the Chairman of the Commission. The other members are: P. H. Manatunga, Savithree Wijesekara, Y. L. M. Zawhir and Anton Jeyanadan.

The National Police Commission is an independent body established under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution vested with powers of appointment, transfers, promotions, control of discipline and dismissal of all ranks of police officers except the IGP.

Meanwhile, Dharmasena Dissanayake has been appointed the Chairman of the Public Service Commission. A. Salam, V. Jagarajasingham, Nihal Seneviratne, Dr. Prathap Ramanujam, S. Ranugge, D.L. Mendis, Sarath Jayathilake and Dhara Wijethilake have been appointed to the Commission.