Tamil Diplomat

TNA scores a Landslide victory in North and East: wins 15 seats

The TNA has scored a landslide victory in North and East, winning 14 seats. A situation exists where the TNA getting one additional seat through National List. TNA has won 5 seats in Jaffna District, 4 in Vanni, 3 in Batticaloa and one each in  Trincomalee and Amparai.

The details of winning candidates of the Jaffna District were announced after much uncertainty. They are shown below:


S.Sritharan                  : 72,158

Mawai Senathyrajah   : 58,782

A.M.Sumanthiran       :  58,043

T.Sitharthan                :  53,743

E.Saravanapavan         :  43,719


Doughlas Devananda  : 16,399


Wijekala Maheswaran : 13,071

TNA’s Leader Sampanthan (33,834votes) had won in Trincomalee.

The details of the winners in Baticaloa districts are: G. sriranjan, S. Viyalenthiran, C. Yogeswaran. The details of the winners in other Districts were not announced yet.

Meanwhile, the spokesman of the TNA, Suresh Premachchandran, TNA former parliamentarians Ariyanethiran, Pon. Selvarasa,  had met with a shocking defeat. At the same time, the TNPF, which was widely speculated to win at least one seat had completely been ‘whitewashed’ in all districts in North and East.