Tamil Diplomat

19 A amendment passed by two third majority

At its second reading in Parliament a short while ago, the 19th Amendment to the Constitution was passed by a two-thirds majority with 214 MPs voting in favour. SLFP MP Sarath Weerasekara voted against while one MP abstained. Seven MPs were absent at the time of voting.