Tamil Diplomat

Bangladesh & Sri Lanka qualify for ICC world cup 2015 Quarter Finals

Bangladesh has qualified for the quarter-finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 following its victory over England at the Adelaide Oval on Monday. Bangladesh’s victory means Sri Lanka has secured the fourth and final spot from Pool A in the last eight stage of the tournament.

Bangladesh will play its quarter-final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Thursday, 19 March while Sri Lanka, as previously announced, will play its quarter-final at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Wednesday, 18 March, against opponents to be determined by the respective finishing positions in the pool stage. Australia and New Zealand from Pool A and India from Pool B have already qualified for the quarter-final stage. Australia will play its quarter-final in Adelaide on Friday, 20 March while New Zealand will play its quarter-final in Wellington on Saturday, 21 March with the opponents of the co-hosts still to be determined.

India’s venue is also yet to be confirmed, and will depend on its Pool A opponent.

Quarter-final matches:
Quarter-final 1 – A1 v B4
Quarter-final 2 – A2 v B3
Quarter-final 3 – A3 v B2
Quarter-final 4 – A4 v B1

*A1 means the side that tops Pool A, while B4 means the side that finishes fourth in Pool B