Tamil Diplomat

Minor political parties gathers to decide: 20th A to the Constitution on electoral reforms

The assembly of minor political parties in Sri Lanka meets today (Friday)to decide on the proposed 20th Amendment to the Constitution on electoral reforms. Leader of the Democratic People’s Front (DPF), Mano Ganeshan has said the group of parties will finalize their stance on the 20th Amendment in today’s meeting.

He said that members of the assembly’s core group had prepared a brief policy paper on the electoral reforms. The document will also be the response of the assembly of minor parties to the electoral reforms proposed by the President. According to Ganeshan, representatives of all minor political and ethnic minority parties including the JVP, TNA, SLMC, DPF, EPDP, ACPC, CPSL, LSSP, LDF, NSSP, USP, CWC, UPF, NUW, EPRLF, PLOTE and TULF are expected to participate intoday’s discussion.